He Called Me Fat

image
I don’t know what to feel. Should I laugh or do I cry?
I’ll let you be the judge of that…

In my typical way, I boarded a taxi going to Wuse and alighted at War College. I stood there for a minute and fortunately, a car heading to Area 3 came along. I made to enter and he asked where I was going. “Radio House”, was my reply and he went on to ask the man standing behind and the man said, “Area 8 junction”. I figured he preferred to carry a passenger heading to a further distance, but the next thing he said was, “e beta the man, you get body“. In plain speaking it means, “I’d rather carry the man cos you are too fat“. At least, that’s how my brain registered it.
image
After his words there was a calm in my head…. There was once a time I hated myself because of how I looked. I couldn’t bear to wear clothes and mingle with humans because I didn’t have much confidence in my appearance. I’ve come to love myself, most of the time, so it’s ironic that I am refused entrance into a taxi for being fat when I’ve lost a considerable amount of weight.
Who do I blame? Myself for letting it get this bad, the cabbie for his insensitivity or the world for making such statements okay?
He called me fat and there is not a thing I can do about it. I just have to suck it up and get to work.

Have a nice day.

THE PURPLEDIVAA ❤

16 thoughts on “He Called Me Fat

  1. It has become a normality these days that people can ascribe a lot of derisive meanings to how we look with little care for how it makes us feel.

    But I guess if we’ll wear our imperfections like a cloak with pride, people will hurt us less with their words!

    I am currently working towards loving my own self the way I should too, and I think writing helps us achieve that goal better! It is a long walk to redemption but with each step I realise we are beautiful every way we are.

    Welldone Purple! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you very much ‘Me’. 🙂 That’s one of the major reasons i started writing- to purge myself of negative emotions that hinder me from moving on. I look forward to reading more from you. Gracias

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey dear, it all depends on how you feel about yourself. Buh i know how you look back then n you looked good but don’t know how you look now. If you love your looks now then don’t let what people say get the most part of you but if you don’t then walk on it, also remember that being fat can be a problem to you later in future n medically it’s not good for you. No matter how you look we will always love you just know that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. the way you see yourself is important, the way God see’s you is even more important, you were “fearfully and wonderfully made” Psalm 139:14, the world can think what it wants, but as your friend, lemme say you are amazing just the way you are…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment