My Adaptation Of Sunny’s Beer-Batter Eggplant Fries. Yum!

Food and me are like peas in a pod, we go together very well and so when I saw the memorial day episode of The Kitchen on Food Network I knew I had to try it and a week after I did.


Sunny Anderson is one of my favourite Food Network chefs (I kinda love them all). I love Freitag, Artie, Guy, Alex Guarnaschelli… The list goes on, but I digress. 🙂
The recipe is quite straight forward and I realised you can make this batter to deep fry other things, like fish.

I replaced some of the items with ones I could easily access like using parsley instead of dill for the dip and using mayonnaise rather than Onion cream cheese. I don’t even know where I could possibly find that.

To get the original recipe visit Food Network.

Other Recipes:

Here is mine!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh Parsley
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper 
  • 1 eggplant, peeled and cut into fry-length spears (clean out the seeds)
  • Vegetable oil, for brushing (I used Olive oil)
  • 1 tablespoon Greek seasoning blend (I used Italian)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons Greek seasoning blend (or as preferred)
  • Zest of a lemon
  • Salt
  • A can/bottle of Beer
  • Vegetable oil, for frying
  • Pepper (optional)

METHOD

First, peel and cut up your eggplant into nice wedges like you would yam, but bigger than potato chip sizes.

Get a bowl and mix your flour, Greek seasoning (dried herbs), black pepper, salt, pepper and anything else you want in the batter. When the dry ingredients are all in, pour your beer and mix simultaneously to a pancake batter consistency then set aside for five minutes and put your oil on the fire. When deciding which beer to use, just use one you know people don’t drink. Don’t use a malt based beer as those tend to be more bitter.

At this point, brush your eggplant with oil. The original recipe coats them in seasoned flour before dunking them into the batter, which I did, but be careful not to have too much flour trapped inside.

When the five minutes are up you can dunk the eggplant in the batter and from in the hot oil. The oil should be hot enough, but not too much for it to burn immediately your battered wedge hits the oil. For those who can, check and ensure the oil is at a steady level of 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Fry until golden brown for 4-6 minutes (recommended) and when their done remove them and set on a paper towel-lined plate,but If you don’t have those you can make do with any clean paper (old newspapers, notes or plain sheets).

MAKING THE DIP

I used mayonnaise and salad cream. I added the lemon juice, Italian seasoning, black pepper, pinch of salt and I blended it all together.

On how it tasted…

The crunch is just heavenly. The inside was too mushy for my taste and I think it was the flour used in coating. My mum was my taster and she didn’t complain! She actually enjoyed it.

As an alternative, you can take it with a savoury dip instead. Eat it with stew or any peppery tomato sauce and I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Wanna try it? Do that and let me know how it went. 

Toodles!

One thought on “My Adaptation Of Sunny’s Beer-Batter Eggplant Fries. Yum!

Leave a Reply

