My Awesome Name

“Hi, my name is Makcit”
Maksit?’, they would say.
“No, it is MAK-CIT”
‘Did you say Matches?’
At this point all I can do is roll my eyes and let out a sigh of frustration at how my beautiful name is butchered in every possible way and also in ways I didn’t think possible.imageI’m a Nigerian, from Plateau state precisely and the first thing most people ask when they hear my name is if It’s English :). It is a native name of the ‘Tarok’ tribe in Plateau state and though it may take some getting used to, pronouncing it is quite easy. The best way to get it is to assume that it is spelt with a ‘h’ as ‘Makchit’. Although I’ve had to contend with the constant misspelling of my name and the grating mispronounciation, I like the reaction when I tell people it is a native name and when I tell them what it means. I’ve grown up with friends and family calling me Makie, Mak, or ‘cit-cit’ pronounced as chit-chit and I love it. I’m the first child and my daddy’s girl (even though he passed away a while ago) so he gave me the name at a time that things started falling in place for him and my mum. My name means ‘enough’ or ‘plenty’ depending on how you use it in a sentence. I was born at a time when my dad felt blessed. Life couldn’t get any better, and there I was, born to seal the deal. The icing on a cake or the cherry on top as I like to put it. I just made everything perfect and my dad said, “a mak cit”... It is much. Weekly Writing Challenge

9 thoughts on “My Awesome Name

  1. Pingback: Stuck on Conchiglie | litadoolan

  2. Pingback: We, the Dragons, shall live, for all eternity! | Wired With Words

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | Cancer Isn't Pink

Leave a Reply

