Writing Prompt – Reflecting for Progress

What’s the oldest things you’re wearing today?

Today has been a dreary day in the capital city of Abuja. I was awaken by the persistent sound of my window hitting its frame, but when I lifted my blindfolds, it was still quite dark. Despite my attempts at not looking at the time, my eyes saw the ‘four’ and ‘eleven’ through the crack in my fingers, as I used the light to make my way to the bathroom.

What is the oldest thing I’m wearing today?

This is the writing prompt and when I saw it I looked as myself: from my hands to my chest, mentally recalling what I had underneath, then down my gaze wandered till I got to my feet. I did a rewind and landed on my head where I realised the answer.

A day in the office, Makcit Rindap 2024

My hair. Not my real hair which has been in locs for about thirty-two months. The wig on my head which I’ve had for five years, at least. This wig was purchased from a vendor with a lot of controversy – she was purportedly selling a mix of good and bad hair – but my experience with her, going by this purchase, was a good one.

In the few seconds it took to register my answer to this prompt, a lot of things ran through my mind which I would like to share.

Lessons from an Old Wig

1. Quality should be a major factor when making a decision, especially on purchases of goods and services. At the time, I got it for a good price and even though there were others I bought what I could afford, considering the quality I could afford and it’s not failed me since.

2. The importance of Reflection. Reflecting on your current situation gives appreciation for where you once were. The seconds it took to inspect myself made me realise that 95% of the clothing and accessories I had on me were less than two years old. Wow!

3. Connected to two is Growth. Upon reflection, I observed growth and was more appreciative of the things I have regardless of the state they are in.

The thoughts sped through my mind, but these are the three that linger.

It’s 11:53am and I’m still wishing I could have stayed home and enjoyed the weather, but as we are taught in theatre, “the show must go on”.

Till I come your way again; directly or through another writing prompt, I remain your fickle writer, Makcit Rindap.

💜

Leave a comment