Online Dating… In Search Of A Mate 

​”Follow your dreams. I am not saying it’s going to be easy, but I am saying it’s going to be worth it.” – Moffat Machingura

I just recorded my first rejection in my online dating quest. I must admit, it hurts a lot than I would have thought.

I recently joined this site (which I absolutely love so far) and the first thing I did after completing my profile was to start flirting. Don’t worry, it’s not as scandalous as it sounds. A flirt is just like ‘liking’ on instagram (the icon is a heart) it’s just a way of showing interest in someone. I like it, but I have one problem with it which I’ll come back to later. 

So after joining the site a few days ago, I received my first ‘Sorry, I’m not interested’ and even if I don’t know the person, it stung, but I guess I appreciate the fact that he didn’t just ignore the flirt. Good right?

Back to my problem with the flirt… I read a lot of bios and some stood out more than others for different reasons – I could relate to certain aspects of a person without liking the total package either because they are young or not into Africans, but how do I ‘Like’ your hobby or compliment your music sense without sending a flirt? You see where I’m going right?

Nonetheless, I still love the site, interracialdating.com, and I intend to subscribe so I can send messages as well as see who has viewed me. Yay!

Why I’m Doing It

I renewed my quest for a white mate when I chatted with the lovely Gazelle Abraham who encouraged me so much, and then I did a Google search and came across the aforementioned site and so far, I have no regrets.

Online dating isn’t necessarily easier than dating I’m real life , but it’s just an alternative that pays off for some and if the advice from successful users of the site is anything to go by, all you need is to be truthful and patient. The rest will happen when and if it’s meant to be.

“Leaving what feels secure behind and following the beckoning of our hearts doesn’t always end as we expect or hope. We may even fail. But here’s the payoff: it can also be amazing and wonderful and immensely satisfying.” – Steve Goodier

I’m very hopeful and my confidence is increasing by the day so no ‘sorry, I’m not interested’ will deter me from my journey to find the perfect mate. :*

Toodles

3 thoughts on “Online Dating… In Search Of A Mate 

Leave a Reply

