Pancakes With A Twist! Meet My Pancakes With Caramelised Apples

pancakes and caramelised applesFor starters, to caramelize – in cooking – means to “cook with sugar so that it becomes coated with caramel.” This was my goal when I decided to try out this particular recipe.

I love pancakes – I think they are dope! – so I am constantly thinking up ways of making it better for my exquisite taste buds because no one likes boring right? Right!

I came across several pancakes and apples recipes, but I preferred CafeDelites’ Caramel Apples ingredients so I used it as a guide. Here’s what my recipe contained;

Caramel Apple Recipe

  • 2 small Apples (one for the pancake batter)
  • Cinnamon
  • Sugar (white because I didn’t have brown)
  • Vanilla extract (a few drops)
  • Butter

I like following recipes to the ‘T’, but this time I played it by ear that’s why there isn’t any specific quantity to the items.

METHOD

1. Caramel

Start by heating up your butter in a pan then you add the sugar and other ingredients. When the sugar has melted, mostly, add your sliced apples to it and let fry.

Stir intermittently until golden-brown.

2. Pancakes

Here is a simple pancake recipe I tried and still use with a few modifications sometimes. To infuse more apples to the dish, chop some and add to the batter before making your pancakes.

Note: The objective is to cook it till it’s soft and caramel-like, but I like some crisp to my food so I didn’t cook mine all the way through.

Set to cool a bit and then make your pancakes and serve together.

3 thoughts on “Pancakes With A Twist! Meet My Pancakes With Caramelised Apples

  1. Pingback: New Pancake Recipe! Delicious Chocolate and Peanut Butter Pancakes | Fickle Feelings

Leave a Reply

