Started From The Bottom, Now We’re… Almost There

This has been in my drafts for almost two years (since April 1st, 2014) so I just had to get it out of there.

When one hears or comes across the sentence, ‘started from the bottom, now we’re here‘, your mind inevitably goes to Drake. He made this simple sentence famous with his hit single that projected and celebrated how far he’d come and also addressed his early life and career beginnings.

Disclaimer: I’m not looking for a pity party or anything of the sort by this post. Quite the opposite. I just realized that once a while it’s necessary to snuggle up in your most comfortable chair with a glass of red wine and flash back to what life used to be like before the present time.

started from the bottomI remember when my pocket money in secondary school used to be 500 Naira which is less than 5 dollars (believe it or not), but my mum always made sure I had my complete set (as we used to call it) of provisions. There was once a time that my mum, my sister and I would enter a bus from town and not afford to pay for more than one seat so I would sit on the engine and my mum would carry my sister or some good Samaritan would empathize and carry me.
There were lots of times we cooked food without meat in it and to us it was normal. There was once a time that taking coca cola was a treat we looked forward to. Lol
I’m thankful for where we are now as opposed to where we found ourselves several years ago. I’m thankful that were weren’t overwhelmed: we are only stronger for it. We aren’t there yet, but we sure are very close to where we were meant to be.

That’s it, as written 2 years ago. I realise some people might have had it worst than we did, I’ve heard some sad tales, but when you know how far God has brought you you’ve gotta give thanks.

Are you where you were last year or last five years? Give thanks for where you are and what you have.

Have a great new week!

12 thoughts on “Started From The Bottom, Now We’re… Almost There

  1. For everything that Nigeria is or isn’t, remembering times that ‘lapping’ a grown child to save on transport cost helps one to count blessings and to remember bus conductors can be accommodating too, well sometimes.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment. Yeah, some conductors were accommodating and some were mean. There were and are nice people in the world too and I can definitely appreciate having my needs because of what I’ve experienced.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this and I am overwhelmed with nostalgia, I think I even have tears(tiny Winny bit) in my eyes as I am writing this, Indeed we have a lot to be thankful for.

    Like

  3. So true…. Thankful to God each n everyday for His Grace and mercies and how far we’ve come. Lol @ the Coca-Cola bit, remember how it was with ‘indomie’?

    Like

Leave a Reply

