The Overrated Holiday

I’m a self-deprecating, prone to depression, Valentine hating, food loving melancholic who enjoys being alone. My love of solitude is not some cry for attention. It’s just that over the years, I’ve had to learn the hard way that putting your fate in people will most likely fail you. This is why I don’t like Valentine’s day.
image
One day in a year that is set aside for people to express their love and affection to someone? Now you tell me what’s wrong with that.

Note; For as long as I can remember, I haven’t spent Valentine’s day alone, but not with some guy who waits for this one day to finally say he has feelings of whatever magnitude for me. Pfft!

There was this guy, Sunny, I met in my second year of university. When we met, (at a dinner) he looked dapper, seemed responsible and more matured than your average university student. This guy showed up at the dorm on Valentine’s day and tried to sweet-talk me into going out with him ASAP. I don’t like spur-of-the-moment plans so I had to decline. A year later, I’m roommates with his girlfriend and I realise they went out that day too, an elaborate affair if I might add. Here is my question, what would have happened if I had gone out with the sod?
For this reason and just the principle of it, I have turned a numb side to this dear holiday. I would rather take myself and willing friends out (so long as the finance is available) instead of ‘Waiting For Godot’ who may never come. Especially when you want him to.

This doesn’t say anything about my love of the spirit of Valentine. I’m a hopeless romantic and I always will be, but don’t wait for the 14th day of the 2nd month to express your love. Do it whenever you feel it.


This post about Valentine was written before I noticed the Weekly Writing Challenge on Valentine, but I decided to link it as soon as I did. 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Overrated Holiday

Leave a Reply

